top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry R

Dean's Amulet - Replica

Good afternoon to all of you who stumbled upon this article.

I have recently purchased a new replica of the amulet worn by Jensen Ackles aka Dean Winchester in the CW's show SUPERNATURAL since the old one that I used for cosplay was starting to get weary. The old amulet that I have for good 3 years now was the widely sold version that is usually wrongly described as an accurate version. Despite the non-accuracy, this amulet still has a greater value for me as it was a gift from my good friend who I consider as a part of my family. Therefore it will still mean a lot to me no matter what. Since this show has learned me a lot and helped me to get through bad times, I felt like starting a small collection of accurate items that belong to the show as butter and bread.


Due to the state of my old amulet, I decided to buy a new one. This time I was making thorough research through various websites while looking at screenshots from various episodes in which the amulet was shown.

I ended up scrolling through Etsy where one can find true gems from lots of dedicated and talented people. This is where I found OutcastArtifacts a small shop that creates movie, tv and game replicas, props. Reading lots of good reviews beforehand, I was convinced that this artist does a great job in this very detailed work.


The owner of this shop, Marc de Hoogh states " It took me 5 years and a 1 in a million chance, but i recently struck gold when i found not 1, but 14 of these genuine vintage amulets. The person i bought them from told me they are believed to be of Indian origin and were manufactured around the 1940’s (which explains their rarity). India, as some may know, is a country where a lot of brass casting is and has been done. Each of the amulets i received were slightly different in detail (which is common in “Dhokra” casting, lost wax casting method as done in India). " After reading the whole description and story of how Marc traced the genuine necklaces, I was convinced to purchase the amulet from him rather than from anybody else.

Once ordered the only thing I had to do was to wait. The artist shipped my order really promptly considering the period of Christmas Holidays and in 4 days there was a package waiting for me in the mailbox. Packaging wise the necklace was safely placed in a bubble-wrap envelope so nothing came damaged.


I am really satisfied with the quality moreover with the promised accuracy. I truly have nothing much to add regarding the details as I feel the mold was well made to preserve them. The whole amulet is brass and gold-plated to provide the unique appearance of the amulet.

The amulet also comes with a real leather adjustable cord so you can change the length up to your preferences.

Before I leave you to look at some photos, I want to recommend OutcastArtifacts to anybody who would be searching for a well-made replica of either Dean's amulet or any other cast replicas. Thank you for a nice item to my new collection!


If you are interested in the show history of this particular amulet check it out here. :)









Just for a reference there is a screenshot from the show:




and few gifs


























*Here you can see a scene from season 11 episode 20 where the amulet started to glow to announce the presence of God. This special ability was questioned several times throughout the show, however this very scene confirmed that it wasn't just a made up rumour.







0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hands off! Naysayers

We all have experienced this. People or, in a worse case, a member of the family discouraging our life goal/dream in various ways possible until we start to question it as well. Why would you fiddle w

bottom of page