top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry R

Do you believe in miracles?

Those of you who are familiar with the publications of self-esteem building authors already know at least one variation of this magical phrase - Believe in........ (fill your own word in).

Having this belief in success can help you achieve things you have never dared to dream of.

In most cases you are rather a rational person, in other, you simply can't baffle the nagging sound of your inner voice telling you to be less prim and more open to the infinite source of hope.

In this manner, I've spent two hours waiting for my industry related work interview.

Nothing else can be done. If you have a dream you have to invest in it.

Nonetheless, waiting in the underground where your face gets struck by the chilly air of approaching train every three minutes is definitely not amongst pleasant ways to pass the time.

Even worse was standing at a bus stop which followed. Although, this particular bus stop was literally just in front of the studio building I found impolite to call producer so early.

So I waited pinned to one place maintaining solemn focused face. This was a moment which could play a significant role in the future of my career.


Checking time every 3 minutes helped me to control my stress level.

As I pushed the power button again after some time, the notification of missed call had been pinned to my lock screen. The heart inside my chest jolted with anxiety. I managed to overcome this feeling and called back feeling fairly awkward.

The producer instructed me to wait for him in front of the security entrance for a minute or so.

As he said he came as punctual as a Swiss clock.

He gestured me to follow him to the building's corner where he will park his car.

After doing so he exited his car and at this very moment, I gathered all the confidence to shake his hand. My facial expression must have been priceless. A mixture of pure nervousness, fragile pressed confidence and a hint of a forced smile. To my fortune, he didn't seem to notice. We entered one of the studio buildings together. Whilst walking up the staircase I wore a mask of someone who was sentenced to death penalty.

When we finally reached his office he politely offered me a cup of coffee. This very question evoked appropriate reaction since I'm not a dedicated coffee lover. Under any circumstances I prefer tea! Coffee is nothing I'd breathe for. I guess he noticed my hesitation and offered me a cup of tea instead. I replied that it would be so kind of him fighting off the modesty.

Our interview started with my personal introduction. To be honest, I'm not fond of self-introducing due to lack of confidence. Therefore I managed to sum all my qualities, virtues and passions into few sentences. In contrast, we then spent the rest of the time sharing our personal opinions regarding film industry including the advantages of studying abroad.

After this hour or so we shook our hands and I was on my way home with a promised place on a film set.

As I think about it now, it wasn't so hard. I just had to believe in myself and have a hope.



Keep fighting for your dreams, no matter what!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page